About

IMG_6482
I am a 58 year old professional retired from the auto insurance industry after 26 years.  I grew up in Nashville, Tennessee, and graduated from Tennessee Technological University, with a bachelor’s degree in Accounting.  I have 2 sons, and 2 cats.  I enjoy reading, traveling, music, movies, and art.

I have a passion for Italy which comes from someplace deep inside, and its origin is a mystery to me.   I have no known Italian ancestry, but for some reason, Italy feels like home to me.  I found a way to move here permanently, and want to share my experiences with those seeking a similar cause.   Obviously, leaving your job and your country is a big change and there is a lot to consider and work through.  As a child, I enjoyed reading and from the moment I could read, I wanted to be a writer.  I put that dream in my pocket along with others that I accumulated along the way such as, traveling extensively, learning to fly an airplane, drive a motorcycle, live in a city, move to another country, learn another language.  I spent a good part of my life living “The American Dream”, which was having 2 children, a successful career, a big house, 2 cars, etc., etc.  This “dream” was not as fulfilling as I had been led to believe, so I took a few other dreams out of my pocket and examined the possibilities of making them come true.

During the course of my travels, I discovered Italy, and all that it has to offer…a very different culture and lifestyle, beautiful landscapes, art, architecture, fabulous food and wine, friendly people, and a beautiful language.

Through this site, I will provide travel tips, cultural observations, how to maneuver through some of the red tape and bureaucracy, and experiences that I have while living here.  Hopefully you will find needed information and inspiration on this site for making your dream come true, or enjoying a visit to another land.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly at: anamericaninitaly@gmail.com